With Malice by Eileen Cook

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Goodreads rating: 3.52 with 8,857 ratings (as of 2/20/2019)

It was the perfect trip…until it wasn’t.

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last six weeks should be. She discovers she was involved in a fatal car accident while on a school trip in Italy. A trip she doesn’t even remember taking. She was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident…wasn’t an accident. …more


200 Word Review

I was walking in the library and saw this book, With Malice by Eileen Cook, sitting on the endcap. I recognized the author’s name as being one I had on my “want to read” list for “You Owe Me a Murder”. It was not for this book but decided to give it a try especially since it is listed on Amazon as “for fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train”.

I am so glad I did. This book was suspenseful from the start. Jill wakes up groggy and annoyed at the alarm clock until she realizes the beep she hears is hospital equipment. She was in an accident and does not remember the accident or the weeks before it. Was she responsible for the accident? Was it an accident? How can she figure it out if she does not even remember anything about the months before it?

With Malice is a fast-paced, well written, YA, mystery/thriller in which the main character does not leave the hospital bed for much of the story. The story keeps you guessing and trying to figure out what happened the same as Jill. We learn the story as she remembers.

Review published on Philomathinphila.com, Smashbomb, Goodreads, Twitter, Amazon, and Barnes and Noble on 2/20/19.

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller
Print Length: 338 pages
ASIN: B01ALOCSFE
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication Date: June 7, 2016

Purchase at Amazon Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: